There are worse places to quarantine!

If you’d have told me a couple of months ago that I’d soon be stood on an island in the South Atlantic and the highlight of my day would be seeing a plane take off, I’d have thought you were insane.

The last Titan Airways charter flight for a month departed St Helena this morning, headed for the UK. The next flight does not arrive until the end of February. Aside from the MV Helena cargo ship which is due to arrive this week, St Helena will be completely isolated from the rest of the world.

You’ll see from the video – it started out a slightly less pleasant day – overcast and about 15 minutes of fine rain, but still warm!

I’ve had a few questions (mainly about food) since my last update, so I’ll try and answer themas best I can.

Whilst in quarantine (less than 2 weeks to go now – yes, I’m counting), we are provided with three meals a day. The camp’s catering is being provided by a local company and they’re excellent. I’ve had 3 really good meals each day so far. I’m not a huge fan of fishcakes, but these are fantastic! Dinner tonight was two huge pieces of tuna that tasted as if they’d just come out of the sea. They probably had.

Residents in the camp can also place outside orders with a local shop that will deliver things like snacks, toiletries, alcohol and cigarettes (and usually on the same day). They are insanely helpful. If you ask for something they don’t have, they’ll go out of their way to find it on the island for you. I loaded up on comfort food and had a parcel of chocolate and South African crisps delivered. Lays too – so it really is like a holiday!

To answer another common question – no, it’s really not like the Great Escape, or any other movie involving a prison camp! It’s a really relaxed, chilled out place, with stunning scenery and with staff that genuinely make you feel very welcome and looked after. There’s also a few other “first-timers” to the island quarantining here too, so it’s a very friendly atmosphere.  (Although if you try and escape, you face up to six months in prison!).

Thankfully, by mid-morning, the weather quickly improved and it was back to the sun cream!

Until next time!

2 thoughts on “There are worse places to quarantine!

  1. Tony Jarmyn

    Cheers Ben,

    It’s fascinating reading your blogs.
    I’m sure you can’t wait to released from quarantine and get to know the island and the locals properly.
    Looking forward to reading your reading your next update.

    Good luck.

    Tony

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Neville

    Three meals and snacks a day? I hope you are taking the chance to exercise? I think you may need to be fit to tackle those sloping streets and hills when you get out? We are closely following your blogs. Several cm of snow here at home!!
    Best,
    Rai & Neville

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment